Book Coaching

Book Coaching
Original image by Eileen Pan on Unsplash.

What do I do for you as a book coach?

  • Help you nail down your book idea, positioning, and outline.
  • Guide you through exercises to deal with procrastination, fear, and resistance to writing your book.
  • Create a writing practice and schedule with you to hold you accountable and get your ass in the chair and words on the page.

Book coaching can be a one-time session to get you started, a short-term engagement to provide you with structure and resources, or an ongoing mentorship offering accountability, in-depth feedback, and developmental editing.

Book coaching is not a good fit for you, if you:

  • Are looking for someone to write your entire book or large chunks of it. If that's you, click here to learn about ghostwriting.
  • Need a copy editor or proofreader to help you polish a manuscript you've already completed. If that's you, click here to learn about editing.
  • Hate therapy and touchy-feely stuff. I'm not a counselor, therapist, or life coach, but book coaching works best if you trust me enough to let me dig around for treasure. That sometimes means we'll have to excavate a lot of shit before we get to the good stuff. It can be painful and exhausting, but it's also exhilarating and liberating. If you're not up for having me push on your bruises a bit, book coaching is not for you. If you'd rather work on your own, check out some of my free resources to write your book.

Book coaching may be exactly what you need, if you:

  • Know you want to write a book but don't know where to start
  • Have used all my free resources but still can't get yourself to write consistently
  • Want guidance from someone who's practicing what they're teaching. I've helped ten authors tell their stories, but I'm also writing my own memoir right now. Everything you're going through, I can relate.
  • Know you need outside accountability to do things for yourself (recovering people pleaser over here, so I know how easy it is to put our own projects at the bottom of the list). If it's easier to disappoint yourself than anyone else, book coaching can give you the support you need.

Note: If you're writing fiction, I'm not the right book coach for you, but message me, and I'll happily connect you to someone I trust.